Question:
Hi Mairtin Nope…not I. Could he have got your addy by just "Reply To Author"? Was the message worthwhile. James "Try, there is no try. There is only do, or not do"–Yoda, Jedi Master
Response:
—–Original Message—– From: Ringo Chew Eng Hoo <t…@tm.net.my> To: m.richard…@utas.edu.au <m.richard…@utas.edu.au> Date: Monday, 4 January 1999 23:35 Subject: help for those suffering from disease and other health problems >Well I will not waste your time.
<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<snip>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Has anyone else here received this. I’m trying to work out where this guy got my mail address from. What can I do about it. He’s from Malaysia (?) but seems to have sent it to an Aussie. Does anyone know why it ended up in my mail? I’d be grateful for your help on this one. Return-Path: t…@tm.net.my Received: from cgi2.tm.net.my (provision.tm.net.my [202.188.95.14]) by icarus.ihug.co.nz (8.8.8/8.7.3) with ESMTP id XAA07256 for <mair…@ihug.co.nz>; Mon, 4 Jan 1999 23:35:49 +1300 (NZDT) Received: from pentium-ii- ([202.188.75.15]) by cgi2.tm.net.my (InterMail v03.02.03 118 118) with SMTP id <19990104103544.LLFD444@[202.188.75.15]>; Mon, 4 Jan 1999 18:35:44 +0800 From: Ringo Chew Eng Hoo <t…@tm.net.my> To: <m.richard…@utas.edu.au> Message-Id: <18161.236164.77019329 mbush@apex2000.net> Subject: help for those suffering from disease and other health problems Mime-Version: 1.0 Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii" Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit Date: Mon, 4 Jan 1999 18:35:44 +0800 X-UIDL: d7df3cf63219898a3eb762aa3dbcdabd Well I will not waste your time.
Response:
Thanks for your reply. It was definitely spam of some kind, the last paragraph of a long mail (I didn’t bother reading it all) had all about the prices. The main thing I was wondering was why I received it when my address wasn’t in the To: portion of the mail. I have never heard of this guy in Australia and yet I received it. Is it possible things are being routed through his address without his knowledge. Should I contact him? his ISP? Actually my main concern was that someone had been misusing this particular ng, it doesn’t seem as if anyone else here has received it though, good. I usually just trash this kind of thing, well under 1% of my mail includes it and I can get 300+ mails a day. More than 1 or 2 a day is unusual. So thanks for your help All the Best Mairtin
Response:
Yes I received that spam twice, the second one was a little bit altered. I was so easily upset the day I received it for the second time that I responded to it, shouting at him that I can heal my physical deseases on my own and that he should stick with his spam where the sun doesn’t shine until he finds a cure for that fuckin’ PTSD I am suffering from. Of course this was a mistake because the golden rule against spam is never to reply. The author of the spam mail had written that he got my name and addy from a newsgroup, but in fact it was not directly adressed to me. The first one was from Ringo Chew, adressed to Fr…@aesops.force9.co.uk The second one was from Ringo Chew Eng Hoo, adressed to Fwro…@banet.net Nevertheless I received it, but most of the spam I receive (and they really spam me to death) is not adressed to me but to some weird adress. My e-mail organization offers a special service: there is an adress you can forward the received spam to, and then the organization will analyse the whole thing, try to get the original author and sender of the spam and eventually punish him or whatever. I always send my received spam to that adress, and of course did the same with those two mails.
If you like this post and would like to receive updates from this blog, please subscribe our feed.